Go to Homepage Skip to main menu Skip to main content Skip to page bottom

Commemorations

Commemorations
Friday 30 March 2018 - 00:00 to Saturday 31 March 2018 - 00:00

The Battle of Moreuil Wood took place on 30 March 1918 on the banks of the Arve River in the Somme.  The Canadian Cavalry Brigade attacked and forced the Germans to withdraw from Moreuil Wood. This defeat contributed to bringing a halt to the German Spring Offensive of 1918.

Read more
Commemorations
Friday 23 March 2018 - 00:00 to Sunday 1 April 2018 - 00:00

In remembrace of the Battle of Grivesnes, the village is organising a whole week of commemorative events starying on Friday 23 March.

Programme of events:

Friday 23 March:

Read more
Commemorations
Saturday 24 March 2018 - 00:00 to Sunday 25 March 2018 - 00:00

The great German Spring Offensive was launched on 21 March 1918 with the aim of separating the French from the British armies. The Allies thus held an urgent meeting in Doullens and decided to create an Inter-Allied Single Comand.

Read more
Commemorations
Sunday 15 April 2018 - 10:00 to 18:00

During the night of the 31 May 1918, artillery fire targeted Australian billets in Allonville killing 19 soldiers and wounding many others.

Read more
Commemorations
Thursday 16 August 2018 - 00:00

Irish commemoration in remembrance of three Northern Irish soldiers buried in the Military Cemetery.
Inauguration of a plaque of rememrance for the village with music by 50 flute platers of Rathcoole Somme and Pride.

Read more
Commemorations
Saturday 21 April 2018 - 10:30 to 19:00

10.30 a.m : Official ceremony of remembrance, visit of Vignacourt 14-18 Centre, concert and lunch.
2 p.m : Cricket initiation and match in the park.

Read more
Commemorations
Sunday 11 November 2018 - 10:30 to 12:00

Sunday 11th November 2018, at 10.30 a.m :
Commemorative Ceremony with the pipe band “Samarobriva Pipes and Drums”.

Read more

Pages