Until the 10 August 2016, the Chateau of Querrieu invites the public to discover an exhibition about the role of the château during the First World War.
As part of the commemorations of the centenary of the Great War, since 2014 the Chateau of Querrieu has been holding an exhibition about the history of the château during the Great War. The château was used as head quarters for Rawlinson's 4th army, who arrived in the area in February 1916 in view of the Battle of the Somme. Sir General Haig also visited many times.
It was thus in this château that preparations were made for the Battle of the Somme. King Georges V even visited on 10 August 1916 to award medals to French generals.
Installed on the first floor of the central building, the exhibition has been increased for 2016. In addition to the photos, three cabinet displays composed of models, equipment and vehicles, three mannequins of soldiers in uniform have been renewed. These include a French artillery man, a German fusilier and a British orderly.
In 2016, the exhibition also displays three paintings by Joseph-Félix Bouchor, on loand from the Museum of Picardy.
6 Euros adults, free for under 15s.
Guided tours at 4pm and 5pm.
For groups : 5 Euros per person, reservation required, available until September
For more information, please call +33 (0)3 22 40 14 09 / +33 (0)6 10 22 47 73.